Home Technical Talk

Zbrush to Max head retopology

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
ChrisFraser polycounter lvl 5
Hey everyone,

So, I'm just getting into learning sculpting in Zbrush. I've got this head as far as I want to take it and now I want to retopo it in Max.

I've never retopo'd anything before or really made anything directly in Zbrush (like this head) and then moved it to Max. I have made base meshes in Max and taken them to Zbrush and back, so thought it would be relatively the same.

The thing that caught me off guard was I was watching a tutorial on retopology in Max and the guy said that he should have resized the mesh in Zbrush before moving it to Max but for this tutorial he would just use the scale tool in Max to make it bigger but that you should never do that... Of course he didn't say why you should never do it and of course I had already moved and scaled the .obj head that I imported into Max by the time I heard this. 

This got me thinking that this is probably some basic knowledge that I don't know and who knows what else I'm missing from this process. I searched a bit but can't find anything relevant to this question or what the correct process is for doing this that isn't going to bite me in the butt later...

So, I'm wondering if someone can point me in the right direction on what the proper steps are to take a head that you made directly in Zbrush into Max and maybe a good retopology tutorial if you know one that might help.

Thanks so much for any help!

Replies

• musashidan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range
    'You should never do that' is just high drama. He probably heard that off someone else who heard it off someone else, never questioned it, passed it on to you.........and the myth was born.....