Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

(UE4) Teaching an old dog new tricks! Landscape studies

ArtfulRunner
polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
ArtfulRunner polycounter lvl 7
Howdy folks! 

TLDR: Im a hard surface person and want to learn to make my own trees... any help is welcome along the way!

I have lurked around these forums for many years and am excited to jump in and be a contributing member of the community here at Polycount! Short introduction first... Im a Senior Environment Artist with a little over 10 years experience in the games industry and have spent the majority of that time being more hard surface and world building oriented and never really got too much of a chance to make my own foliage or trees and have always been a little jealous of those who are really good at it. So Id like to learn how to do that myself and take this as an opportunity to rebuild my portfolio with more dynamic content.

To start I wanted to make a series of landscape vignettes from various biomes from the American West using landscape paintings from the 19th century (mostly) as reference. I hope to document my journey as I go and receive tips, pointers and of course awesome critique from all  you fine folks! 

First up will be a couple of Texas scenes. Im from Texas originally and thought this endeavor might have a little more gradual slope if i started with something I knew well. Currently I have most of my preliminary assets made as well as master shaders for my trees and foliage. This scene is just a neutral scene for color correcting textures and learning how to get my foliage to read properly in engine. 

Below is a first shot of my test scene. Ill post more coming up real soon with further explanation of what Ive done and where I am headed next.

Replies

• ArtfulRunner
    Offline / Send Message