Home Marmoset

Custom Shader - Any way to access screen resolution / aspect ratio?

venain
polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
venain polycounter lvl 12
Hey guys,

I'm currently writing a custom shader that makes heavy use of screen space UV's. The problem is, I can't seem to find a way to access the screen resolution/aspect ratio, so  the textures I run in screenspace are stretched horizontally. I'd also like to scale the UV's based on distance from camera, which I also couldnt figure out. I'm pretty new to doing shaders in code, so there might be something obvious i'm missing?

Thanks!

Replies

• jeffdr
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jeffdr polycounter lvl 11
    Hi,

These things might be a tad tricky, but I think they're possible. So first, regarding screen resolution, we haven't directly exposed that for custom shader authors (sorry), BUT there may be a workaround. The value is available in mat.frag (the central material shader) in uScreenTexCoordScaleBias. So if you could define your subroutine macros to receive this value, you'd have access to it. Something like this:

void myFunc( FragmentState s, vec2 screenResInv ) {
       //your shader here. screenResInv contains { 1 / width, 1 / height }
    }
    #define Albedo(s)  myFunc(s, uScreenTexCoordScaleBias.xy)

(This example presumes you're adding an Albedo shader, but the same approach works with any other subroutine). The idea here is you're passing a sort of secret value to your custom shader, one that the main shader architecture usually uses exclusively.

Lastly you can get camera distance from the screenDepth member of FragmentState. The tricky part here is that the value is post-perspective depth, and highly nonlinear. You'd probably need to reconstruct depth from this value with a term like:

float camDepthSorta = c / s.screenDepth;  //where 'c' is a constant of your choosing (something that looks good)