Home Technical Talk

Hotel VR Experience

Reece Whittingham
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Reece Whittingham polycounter lvl 4
I was approached the other day to create a VR experience for a hotels function room. As i have no experience creating a VR project I thought I would stop off here for some tips.

First off, the project im planning itself is pretty basic, a 360 degree fixed camera with a few different room presets and layouts however i'm worried about performance issues of a semi-realistic VR experience. Obviously it would depend massively on the system the hotel used to run the project but I have no idea what the minimum specs of the system would have to be for it to run smoothly.

Secondly im not well versed in the different kinds of VR headsets other that the Vive and Occulus but I know there are cheaper alternatives out there. I doubt the hotel will want to fork out £600 for the headset as well as whatever I quote them for the project. Does anyone have any experience with other VR headsets and can make recommendations for the project?

And finally special considerations for setting a VR project up in Unreal engine. Im sure this question can mostly be answered with a visit to unreals documentation but a few of you might know oher things that could be helpful.

Thanks

Replies

• Taylor Brown
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Taylor Brown ngon master
    Those first two questions seem like they should be sent to your client.
  • kanga
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage
    Hi Reece. Im busy with the same  thing. Check out TwinMotion over at Unreal. https://www.unrealengine.com/en-US/twinmotion?sessionInvalidated=true There is also google vr in a cardboard version if you need it https://vr.google.com/

Im messing with TwinMotion atm and its a blast!

Cheers
  • TheGabmeister
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    TheGabmeister interpolator