Home Technical Talk

New to Retopology- Advice needed on some stuff!

Hi everyone,

So like the title says, I'm new to retopologizing things- I'm not totally new to 3d, but I'm new to optimizing things for games and whatnot. 

On the right is the model I've made- the base of the hammer was done in Maya and the petals were added in Zbrush. I brought it back to maya to retopo, but I'm confused on how to tackle topology like this. The goal for me is to learn how to properly optimize for game assets so I don't want to just decimate/zremesh- I want to learn how to do it properly.

I've been looking at the image below as an example of something similar (protrusions on protrusions) but I have NO idea how the transparencies happened between the low outermost 'feathers'.

Any advice or examples would be greatly, greatly appreciated. 

Thanks for reading!

Replies

• musashidan
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range
    Your primary concerns are silhouette and surface shading, and to a lesser extent these days when authoring for high-end, but still important, optimisation. The example you posted is great because it shows a really strong silhouette with as few triangles as needed to capture some great sculpting/texturing. The normal map is doing a lot of the work here. As for the lower feathers, you'll notice that the geo there is just a flat plane with an opacity map texture for the transparency(same with the top of the crown)

My main advice is to concentrate on capturing the silhouette(use a flat black shader or squint your eyes at the model from a medium distance) using as little geo as needed. Your own asset is mostly rounded/soft, whereas the example is mostly sharp/angular.
  • Zalek4
    Offline / Send Message
    Zalek4 polycounter lvl 5
    That's quite a hammer!