Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP][UE4] WW1 Trenches!

M.Petersen
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
M.Petersen polycounter lvl 6
Hi everyone! My name is Martijn Petersen, I'm an environment art student at the BUAS (formerly known as NHTV) and wanted to share a personal project based on the british trenches during first world war that I am working on right now.

I have been working on it for quite a while now and its reaching towards finishing stage. It still needs some work and im struggling on a few points but it's comming along quite well so far.

Everything is made from scratch!

Feedback is much appreciated!

flyrthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kPDji-ZF-Jg&feature=youtu.be

Replies

• Rurouni Strife
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rurouni Strife polycounter lvl 10
    First things first, I love what you have. The placement of assets and choice of said assets (be they self made, store bought, or some mix) is solid. 

I think your atmosphere is also quite good. I wonder if you can add some volumetric fog or some localized volumes just for some additional effect once all is said and done.

Now, what your scene is missing is a break up of all of the colors and a degree of additional griminess, and this is most noticeable on the assets that intersect the muddy ground. I would utilize a few decals that project the mud material (or some version of it) on to your assets. use it liberally at ground and asset intersection points. 

You can then take the same technique and use a mix of faint color textures to add a degree of variation to the scene too with some slight hue changes. I stress slight-it's a WWI trench, it's going to be really brown. 

Check the scaling on the rifle. It looks huge compared to a two man machine gun. Speaking of guns, the mats are far too clean. If you can't dirty them up in a DCC program, see if you can find an interesting solution via the material editor.