Home Technical Talk

[BLENDER 2.8] Render map from shader editor

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
melviso polycounter lvl 10
In 3dsmax, u can right click any node that corresponds to a texture or group of textures e.g composite map or color correction node and render map in the material editor, is this possible in Blender 2.8 or 2.79 in the shader editor in any way? or only the bake option using cycles?

Replies

• musashidan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range
    If you hover the cursor over the bottom corner of a viewport panel you can shift click to clone a floating window and then change this to the image editor. I'm not sure if you can render the image in the same way as you can in Max, but I'm very new to Blender and still learning. :)

Also, unrelated but very useful, if you have Node Wrangler addon enabled(which you should) you can ctrl+shift+click any map to render just that in the 3D view. Very handy for isolating maps.
  • melviso
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks. Will look into it. I am feeling though the only way to render out is using bake:
     I also figured I would be using Blender texturing features for my texturing rather than photoshop after seeing this:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ReVGrqx_c5M

the way to render out the maps from the material output would be to use bake. I intend to try it out.
  • musashidan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sorry mate, I think I misread your intention. I thought you just want to view the input map in a render window, but you want to bake the material channels to a map? Is that right?
  • melviso
    Options
    Offline / Send Message