Home Career & Education

I need some advice / portfolio review

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
loshmiii polycounter lvl 7
Hello people,
My name is Milos and I'm interested in 3d character artist. I'm self-taught. Also I study graphic-design but at college I dont learn almost anything about 3D. Btw place where I live dont have any game dev studio and number of people that know anything about 3D is really small. So I'm looking here for some advices and critique.
As I say I'm interested in 3D character design and I'm wondering how far currently I'm from some standard that is needed to get job in studio as a junior? I was applying for some jobs around Europe but I had no success so I think that I need to change something. I'm thinking about taking some personal courses from some skilled artist.

Here is link to some things I have done so far:

If anyone want to know something more, just ask.

Replies

• Biomag
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Biomag sublime tool
    Hey,

so from a quick look at your portfolio there are still a couple of areas that need improvement. Keep in mind junior artist positions most of the time mean -> little production experience, same quality level as seniors. This is one of the reasons why it is hard to break into the industry.

Coming back to your portfolio:
    1. Anatomy needs work. Both facial and body proportions.

2. Modelling skills. It is obvious you are using ZBrush for modelling as everything has this wobbly sculpted feeling to it. This won't cut it. Either learn a modelling package (what I seriously recommend, since most studios require it anyhow for pipeline purposes) or at the very least learn hard surface modeling in ZBrush - but again, it probably won't be enough. I know studios test hard surface modelling by requiring you to provide a file that definitely wasn't done in ZBrush but either Maya or Max. 

3. If you are working on characters Marvelous Designer is a must, at least for realistic characters.