Home Career & Education

Qs & Discussion | Concept art from a 3D artist's perspective; what makes it "bad", how to deal w/ it

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Munnimun polycounter lvl 2
Hey guys!

I'm currently working on my thesis and have found it to be incredibly difficult to find literature (read: articles, blogs, forum posts, videos) on the topic of the 3D artist's perspective of concept art, and what makes good concept art to a 3D artist. And, in addition to that, how do you deal with concept art that isn't up to certain standards and doesn't tell you all you need to know about the design. (note: I'm also coming from a 3D artist perspective, I felt in a previous discussion I had with someone they thought I came at it from a concept artist's perspective, just making sure that's clear)

Granted, I have some ideas and some knowledge on what would (and does) make good concept art, however! I would love to hear from some of you guys, what, in your opinion, makes concept art "good", or otherwise, "bad" to work with. (note the quotation marks, this is not meant as an insult to concept artists, just an oversimplified way of describing useful/unuseful concept art) The main question to this thesis is as follows, to give you a better idea of where this is going:
"How can a 3D Character Artist translate and adapt the style and design of the concept art to that of a project?"

The answers to this thread should help me get to answering this question through practical research and create somewhat of a guide, or at least formulate a properly researched conclusion. Although this is definitely focused on the Character Artist, environment artists' thoughts are appreciated too!