Home Career & Education

Getting a game funded?

IgnitionChemistry
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
IgnitionChemistry polycounter lvl 5
Hi!
During the past 2 to 3 years, I've started working in the games industry, I've started to know more about pipelines and processes and got to know a little bit of everything that is about making a game.
I'd like to use this knowledge one day to come up with my own game. I've been looking at grant opportunities and funding from several sources and would like to ask, if anyone could advise on what kind of materials I could submit to make the project appear like an inviting investment?

As a concept artist, I thought about making pitch art(8 to 10 environments, 2-6 characters) along with a story script/ambient of the world and a detailed design document, but my question is if it's enough? Provided the idea is original and the art is good,(I'm confident they are) do you think I'd have any luck without a playable demo? or some sort of in game mock up level?
I ask because I would like to cease some funding first to then go about hiring the people I need to build the product and right now, my skill only relies in pre-production, stuff like concepts and maybe hire a story writer for a short script.

Replies

• Neox
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Neox godlike master sticky
    it's likely not enough. just bein an "idea guy" doesnt get you money, well unless you can sell REALLY well. otherwise you have to show that you are able to pull it off.
    You certainly should show something that can reflect the final output. anything thats prototype clearly has to show its prototype. But it should sell the idea that you know what you are doing and can actually deliver.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4LTtr45y7P0
  • NikhilR
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NikhilR polycounter
    There's always the odd beat option of mass appeal, like this campaign here.
    https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/990500595/subverse