Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First Render/Project Ever - New to the 3D World

Hello there! Complete newbie here, started self-learning 3D via Blender and tutorials 3 and a half weeks ago. I have since bought a few courses but decided to finish this project that took me 2 and a half weeks.

This is a render of my full-time job office. The main challenge for me was that we are not allowed to have any electronics inside the area for security reasons, so half of the stuff I had to sketch (and well, let's just say I've never really drawn much at all). The mouse, keyboard, chair and headset I modeled off reference photos online. The rest was badly drawn sketches with a lot of writing to remember colors, angles and height.

I learned so much from doing this project. By far the most challenging thing to model was the desk chair taking me a full 3 days to finish. I'm still not happy with it fully by the way. The mesh part of it is not accurate to my real desk chair. But well, I couldn't keep re-doing things.

I also love gaming, have been gaming since I was 3 on them old Atari consoles. Producing content for gaming purposes is definitely something I want to focus on later on. I decided to attempt a kind of photo realistic project first to challenge myself in the modeling department and having to model every single detail.

It was super fun to do, and to see a blank scene with a cube turn into this is very rewarding. It definitely kicked my modeling skills into high gear doing everything from scratch. I still need to practice texture and details a lot. Being my first render there's a bunch of things I could have probably done better or might need fixing, and that's what I'm wanting to hear from more experienced folks.

First draft

First render

Second render test

Almost done...

Final Render!

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• AndresZambrano
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AndresZambrano polycounter lvl 3