Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My first 3D project - Prague Metro [UE4] - WIP

Hey! I'm Nick, and I would like to share this with you, looking for feedback and all opinions so I can develop and improve.

I'm quite new to 3D modelling, I've done a few bits and bobs in the past but nothing major, very basic stuff. Like this thing here. Which obviously has many issues.

model

I wanted to get into it more, so I can create my own scenes and environments to use in UE4. I'm a big fan of post-apocalyptic and war-torn places, big fan of Stalker, Metro similar games, so making something gritty, abandoned was a no brainer for me.

I've done some research and decided to make a metro station, inspired by Metro in Prague, Czech Republic. I considered it being quite simple, easy layout... well. I wasn't exactly right 

So I started my research, watched quite a few videos and used Google Images to search for references.

This is what my station will be based on

I wasn't sure how should I approach the shape of the wall, should I use just a normal map or actually model the shape? I choose the later, which eventually with some difficulties I managed to pull off.

My workflow was a total mess, I had models all over my viewport and I wasn't really doing well with sizing the items correctly, due to my lack of experience. I've made some improvements though, but it's still not optimal.

I've started using Substance Painter for texturing, which helped a lot as well as some resources from Quixel Megascans. This helped me work towards more realistic looks, as you are able to set a live link directly from UE4 to SP, combining this with Adobe Photoshop turned out to be a very efficient way for me to texture at a decent rate.

Start of the project

A few days later