Home Career & Education

What to put on resume with no experience as an artist?

I'm interested in applying for concept artist positions, but have no experience and never attended art school so I'm not sure what to put on my resume. I have an unrelated business degree and have worked office and fast food jobs. Does it look bad to include that information on the resume in any way? How should I format the resume if there's no work experience?

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    It doesn't look bad necessarily.

Put work experience above degree.

I'd remove the fast food jobs if you can help it.

You format the resume as best as you can and as usual.  Resume is really meant to only survive the HR's eyes and quick appraisal.

Your real judgement comes with your portfolio.  Do you have one?

• redbluegreen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the response. Yes, I have a portfolio.  Do you think it would make sense to format the resume with the headers; Objective, Highlights of Qualifications, and Additional Information?  Something like this:

OBJECTIVE
    - something along the lines of seeking first concept artist job

HIGHLIGHTS OF QUALIFICATIONS (should I use this phrase or change the header to 'SKILLS')
    -list software I use
    -understanding of fundamentals, design, light, colour, etc....

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
    -office job
    -degree

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Have you worked on ANY projects as a concept artist up till now?

What does your portfolio look like?
  • redbluegreen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    No, I haven't worked on any projects.  My portfolio consists of environments pieces. 
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message