Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Aztec/Mayan Dagger

Javilq
polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Javilq polycounter lvl 7
Hi all, first post here.
I'm currently trying to work on some game art portfolio pieces and wanted to post here both as a drive to keep me motivated/working as well as to get some feedback and advice since a lot of this stuff I am very new with.
This is the first item I am working on. Based on a concept I found online from Joe Comeau (https://ljc4.artstation.com/projects/Z8XGN):

And here is a screenshot from Zbrush of my current progress: 
I am still fairly new to zbrush so it has been a lot of trial and error. In particular, I am having a lot of issues creating a "chisel" look on the side of the blade like what you would see on obsidian/jade/flint blades like the following: 

Any feedback or advice is more than welcomed. I am still slowly chipping away at the sculpt and trying to improve it so any help would be appreciated!

Thanks!

Replies

• HorribleJohn
  • Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    a couple things you could try for that chiseled looked --

just go in with slash brush or clay buildup and very messily cut in your peaks and valleys. Run tool>geometry>clay polish with sharpness slider set pretty high a few times. Clay polish does mask the edges it creates so you can use that mask or clear it afterwards.

In tool>masking you can mask by peaks and valleys, or by smoothness, then deform>inflate to get a little more variation. Also you can isolate the valleys and either smooth or deform>polish. Basically the idea is to mask off your crisp edges and then smooth out the parts inbetween.

Lastly, there is an obscure brush called crumple. Basically you clickhold and jiggle it and it will give nice micro-cracks. Probably not appropriate for this but maybe it could help.

One unrelated side note :