Home Career & Education

Sudden need to get pro. But how.

Sunseaker
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Sunseaker polycounter lvl 4
Hello!

I have been learning 3D for fun in my spare time for a few years now with the idea of One Day getting a job in a studio doing character or creature modeling. I have a job completely unrelated to design that I actually really enjoy, but just found out the team is getting downsized and my contract will be ending sometime in July. 

This is deffo a sign it's time to swap fields and try to do what I really want. I was looking at CGMA and other online classes but a lot don't start until late April and I think I'v only got about 4 months. I'm not learning from scratch, I have an old portfolio and I know ZBrush pretty well, and the basics of Substance and Maya.

Is it bonkers to try learning everything else and get a new portfolio together in that amount of time? How do I optimize/maximize my learning, what should I try to focus on and in what order? I figured ZBrush anatomy, texturing in Substance then topology in Maya? Maybe aim for 3 nice game ready human characters? 

Is this unfeasible? I can probably put a good 30-40 hours a week in after work, at least for a while anyway. If if even slightly possible I'd really appreciate a study plan or list of super intense online classes.

Thanks in advance, from someone having a quiet panic during their lunch-break.

Replies

• defragger
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    defragger sublime tool
    can you share your current portfolio? It would be a lot easier for us to give useful advice.

It might also be an option for you to spend a few months learning fulltime after your contract has ended.
  • carvuliero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    carvuliero hero character
    That's will depends on your current skill level why don't you post few of your latest work even if they are not complete ?