Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Skull Temple

node
So I have been working on this for a couple of weeks now, and I have realised that sharing is caring and its great to get a second set of eyes on things. I am currently trying to recreate the scene here loosely based on the concept art of Andrew Palyanov here: https://www.artstation.com/artwork/W2aywX 

This is my first attempt at a large exterior environment. I have worked on several interior scenes varying in scale, but by setting this outside, it will really push me to improve my lighting and organic modelling and sculpting skills, 2 areas where until now I have lacked in practice.

There's still an awfully long way to go with this, but I was hoping to post regularly on here, take on board peoples feedback and try and make this the best possible portfolio piece I can. I have already learned a lot about substance designer and landscape tools in UE4 but there's still a hell of a lot to go.

Below is where I am currently at, the next step will be my first pass at the big spooky trees, any advice on sculpting trees would be great and any critique and feedback is hugely appreciated!

Replies

• Benjammin
    Offline / Send Message
    Benjammin polycounter lvl 6
    This video has some good tips and techniques for doing trees without the likes of speedtree: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LR7s_pFqVWo - possibly more of a realistic look than what you're going for, but it might be useful. All of his videos are worth a watch.
    Good luck, and keep posting updates, even if you don't get a lot of replies. :)
  • Nattyoop92
    So first posted update, I haven't had a huge amount of time, but I have already made several improvements:

1. Built Tree base meshes.
    2. adjusted lighting to brighten the scene and match the colour profile of the concept better.
    3. Adjust the camera angle and the colour of the moss.