Home Career & Education

self taught and degrees in nows industry

Hello and good day to all, 

So, what i need to know is does a degree really matter ? i have read many discussions that say it doesn't and that i just have to be extremely good with an exce
ptional portfolio. But they are all really old ones. so in the animation industry, the 3D one of now in 2019 does a degree really matter ?

Thank you for reading this u
p to this point and will be waiting for your responses  and feedback on this matter. 
English not my first language so i apologize if some sentences are weird.  

Replies

• PixelMasher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PixelMasher veteran polycounter
    it only really matters if you need to get a work visa. if there are studios in your country then most likely a degree is not needed. I am self taught and have been working in the industry for the last 11+ years, and it has never held me back, but then again I live in canada and there are lots of studios here. I think I can finally be eligible for a work visa to the USA due to my years of work experience but up until about a year ago, that wouldn't have really been an option. 

The most important thing is what you can SHOW you can do not a piece of paper, a mediocre artist with a degree will struggle a lot more than a  self taught basement artist with a top notch portfolio.  
  • ella
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    it only really matters if you need to get a work visa. if there are studios in your country then most likely a degree is not needed. I am self taught and have been working in the industry for the last 11+ years, and it has never held me back, but then again I live in canada and there are lots of studios here. I think I can finally be eligible for a work visa to the USA due to my years of work experience but up until about a year ago, that wouldn't have really been an option.