Home Technical Talk

Avoiding random non-manifold faces/UVs

node
Hey, I'm fairly new to this and trying to UV a character while fixing some problems in the mesh, and at some point, I always end up getting non-manifold UVs, which makes impossible to further unfold the mesh or do a lot of important operations. Any idea on what I'm doing that create this kind of problem? As far as I'm aware of, I'm only moving vertices, using sculpting relax function, merging duplicated vertices, creating/deleting seams and unfolding the mesh. How can I avoid creating random non-manifold faces? And more important, how to fix the model? Cleanup won't do the trick (it destroys everything). In the screenshot below are the faces that Maya marks as non-manifold. It's my third try and I end up destroying the mesh and redoing the UV process from zero when a non-manifold face appears. Thanks!

EDIT: Solved! See BIGTIMEMASTER's reply below for the solution.

Replies

• Alex_J
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    I can't say exactly what is causing the issue in the first place, but if you do much mirroring at all that can give you some extra vertices along the border which will cause issues. Projecting your UV's should have anything to do with this.

There are two main ways I ameliorate the issue -- both are a little tedious but it's just a few minutes work really after you've done it a time or two. What I do is turn on vertex selection mode and then turn on smooth mesh preview. This will pull any extra vertices out from hiding and you can pinpoint the problems directly. Also you can use your cleanup operation but set it to only select, save those selected faces as a quick selection, and then just replace the faces one by one.