Home Career & Education

Afraid of becoming jack of all trades, master of none.

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Dreyzie polycounter lvl 3
Hello. I'm still relatively new to the game art world, and I seem to have a hit a brick wall in my learning. I'm posting this thread in hopes of getting a little insight.

So here's my dilemma. I am self taught and my ultimate goal is to become an environment / level artist. Now I fully understand the amount of work it takes to get to a professional level, but I'm starting to lose track on what area of the pipeline I should be focusing on. Right now I'm trying to learn every program in the pipeline at once (Max, Zbrush, Substance, UE4) and I honestly feel like I'm spreading myself too thin. But at the same time, as an environment artist shouldn't I be expected to know how to use everything in the pipeline? This is why I'm concerned about becoming a "master of none" because I'm not focusing enough energy into a single skill. I'm not complaining about the amount of work, I'm just feeling overwhelmed and lost right now. 

So I guess what I'm asking is, should I skip some parts of the pipeline for the sake of honing more important skills? Do potential employers look to see if you have a strong grasp of every piece of software in the pipeline? Or are they more concerned with your quality in more focused areas? Also, feel free to check out my Artstation to see where I'm lacking. I appreciate it. https://dreyzie.artstation.com/

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Put your Artstation link in your post? On mobile, signatures are stripped out (not something we can control easily, sorry).

I'd recommend not worrying about knowing any one specific software right now.

Simply focus on the weakest aspect of your work, strive to overcome it. Reassess your work periodically, then focus on the next weakness for a bit.