Home Career & Education

"Affordable" 3D software

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
ChrisFraser polycounter lvl 5
Hey everyone,

I have a an issue thats sort of been burning me up for the last couple months.

"Which industry standard 3d package should I devote the most time to learning that isn't going to cost an arm and a leg later on?"

What I'm struggling with is that right now I'm basically just a 3d hobbyist, re-learning and getting back into 3d as its something I thoroughly enjoy doing. If, at some point in the future, I could make a job out of it or do some indie dev work where I apply my 3d knowledge to make a game, then that would be awesome. For now I've set no big expectations and I'm just learning and enjoying creating things. I have a very secure career that I don't hate so I'm not in any huge rush to drastically change my life.

I originally went to school for 3d art over a decade ago and learned how to use Maya around 2007. I got into this other career after school finished, which I am still in. Fast forward to about 6 months ago and I decided to re take up my interest in 3d. Surprisingly, I found I was still massively into it and have really rekindled my old passion. For whatever reason I decided that I would give 3ds max a go this time and was able to get an education license for that.

I have been learning max and really enjoying the workflow over the last while but when I look at how much it actually costs to have a subscription to the package, my anxiety goes through the roof and feel like I should find a cheaper/different solution.

I just can't stand the idea of an expensive subscription, so I have been investigating what else is out there that is cheaper or has perpetual licenses. I have purchased Substance Painter, ZBrush and downloaded Unreal. These are all great, and its good to know I own them now but as for a base 3d package, I am really torn.