Home Career & Education

Coming back to 3D. Is it really for me?

Few years ago, I discovered 3D and started learning it. I studied for 2 months and made some simple 3D models (I am self-taught). After that I got a full time job that is not related to 3D. At first, I still make models whenever I get home from work making it my hobby. But then I got busy and I wasn’t able to make anything.

Now, I would like to start to learn 3D again and if possible make it a career. (I am thinking of becoming an environment or props artist).  But the thing is, I live in a place where there is less job opportunity related to 3D. Also, time and money is a factor, I am not getting any younger and I need to pay the bills.

Right now I am back to square one. Refreshing my knowledge in 3D and learning new things. I am currently learning how to sculpt in Zbrush.

My questions are:

If you were me, what would you do? How would you deal with the situation?

If I commit myself in studying and making my portfolio, how long do you think it would take to become employable?

Should I do it or keep it as my hobby?

BTW, this is my first post (yay!). I hope you can share some of your insights and experiences to help me decide on what to do. Thanks!

Replies

• lucasz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    lucasz polycounter lvl 7
    The Old - should I do it Question.....

I would say just do it - no one can answer your Question really since we arent you nor do we know you or your art.

Yes it's hard. Yes you will sacrifice fun time ( probably to an extent where you lose friends/family and even health sometimes ). If it's more then a hobby and a passion then go for it - if not there's your answer. ( From your Statement that you stopped the Hobby it doesn't sound like it tbh )