Home Career & Education

Internships that seek students

ngon master
Offline / Send Message
Taylor Brown ngon master
What is it with the majority of internship listings making it a requirement to be working towards a degree? Is it all about subsidies?

I get so excited jumping on indeed, reading through a post till I hit that dreaded requirement. It feels like a wall placed in front of self taught artists who don't have those opportunities.

Is it worth it to apply to these positions if you aren't in school? Do those apps just get tossed in the trash immediately?

Replies

• Ashervisalis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    Hey Taylor. With regards to jobs, don't think you need to meet every single requirement on a job posting in order to apply. Recruiters put high standards in there but don't really expect people to hit every single one of them. I'm not entirely sure if school is an actual requirement for an internship, they might just be putting that in there so people who have never touched a 3D program don't apply. I could be wrong though, I hope not.
  • Taylor Brown
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Taylor Brown ngon master
    I've heard the same thing about there being soft and hard requirements. I've just never heard anyone talk about the school req... I imagine there is money on the line due to it being a large time / resource investment and that there's some sort of State kickback to make it more palatable for companies.
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    It may be a legal thing, Taylor.
  • Spag_Eddy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Spag_Eddy greentooth