Home Career & Education

If you were me

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
HazeusView polycounter lvl 6
In June I will finally finish the university and graduate.
I studied in Academy of fine arts, but they didn't teach me anything about 3d and that's why I started studying alone, 5 years ago, following tutorials from time to time, and while I was studying for university (which steals 90% of my day) I improved little by little.

My dream is to work as a 3d character artist for AAA companies like Blizzard, or Riot Games! Who have very stylized characters, but to make the stylized I have to know how it works the real anatomy, right?
Trying to reproduce it, often I seem to move away from what I'm doing, and my attention falters, focusing too much in realistic and going into crisis!

1. How should I do?
I like both styles, realistic and stylized, but I still haven't found my way.

If you were me,
2. What would you do after June?
Assuming that I live in Italy, and I'd rather prefer not return to schools again, what would you advise me to do? 
Is there a daily "workout" that you suggest me to do? Some tutorials to repeat until nausea?
Any course (not too expensive) that will really help me?

I know that I don't spend enough time "training" myself,  that "Hard work beats talent", and that everything depends on me too..

(Only to show you my actual level, not for spam, this is my embarassing artstation profile)

Replies

• carvuliero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    carvuliero hero character
    So what did you actually learned at academy of art ?
  • HazeusView
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    So what did you actually learned at academy of art ?
    I studied modern and contemporary art mostly, photography, and things like this, but 3d it's not in the program
  • arnov
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    arnov polycounter lvl 4

1. How should I do?
    I like both styles, realistic and stylized, but I still haven't found my way.