Home General Discussion

New game project needs efficient and interesting art style

Hi all
As I start a new game project as a solo developer the choice of art style is particularly important. I'm experienced enough to pull off a realistic model with decent character animation, but I'm not experienced enough to do it efficiently. And I suspect that even if I were, as a solo dev, with a huge amount of assets, it is completely impractical to go that route. 

I have been away from 3d art for quite some time (not counting the sporadic sculpting sessions I did over the years), so I'm not in tune with the community, I don't know what new tools there are and stuff like that. That's why I'm here, to ask for opinions. Basically, I'm thinking about making the game entirely untextured, maybe low poly. Something that I could efficiently output a larger amount of assets in less time. 

However, my possibly outdated experience tells me low poly isn't very efficient either. I feel I could sculpt (with something like sculptris) much faster than moving polygons and vertices in blender. The workflow would require of course a retopology process etc.

Another thing I'm keeping my eye on are modeling solutions in VR. I'm fortunate enough to own an oculus rift and I'm considering testing workflows with those solutions and seeing if I can produce usable assets that could be loaded into a game engine efficiently. It all seems very new and more like toys than actual tools though.

Anyway, any opinions? suggestions? Have you seen a cool art style somewhere or a game and would like to share? I'd appreciate it!

This is my first post here. I read the stickies and I hope this post is adequate.

Replies

• pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter