Home Technical Talk

how to have even texel density correctly?

Bumblebee
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Bumblebee polycounter lvl 3
so i was working on this piece here and as you can see, the walls all have dfferent texel density. How would I turn them into a consistent texel density. I am also very unsure about how to uv unwrap longer pieces inside 3ds max. I know like a square 1x1 wall should occupy the 0-1 space but what about a 2x1 or 2x1x3 wall ? How would I unwrap this to not make it look skewed and still tile? I tried reading jacob norris's modular environment but I didnt quite get it. Is there a way to have 3ds max show me a  grid representing the outside 0-1 space? Again the brick modules are like 5 in one uv space so they occupy most of the space in the uv island but that makes the texel density across the thing incosistent

Replies

• Bumblebee
    Offline / Send Message
    Is there a script in max that will automatically do it for me? Again Im kinda new to uv unwrapping modular stuff, i usually do props.

what i am also kinda wondering, do I not have to make some pieces use the 0-1 uv space to the fullest to ensure texel density? I was always told to pack tightly as possible. Here are some light bakes. Again what I am also wondering is, in the unreal documentation they dont reccomend overmodularizing your levels, however I almost see in evry 3d game that there are modular pieces to construct buildings and rooms etc. I am just wondering how do they not have seams? I was looking on some rainbow six buildings that obviously were baked yet there were no seams, also in some other titles. I have to deal with this:

• Mark Dygert
    Every block doesn't need it's own unique space, you can unwrap a few and then copy and rotate them to get variation. You could easily put them on the same sheet, in the window holes of the first mesh.