Home Technical Talk

Thinking about learning Modo, but will Indie be sufficient for me?

Elarionus
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Elarionus polycounter lvl 3
I've been seeing a lot of fantastic things about Modo the last few months, and I've always been nervous to make the switch because I'm a broke college student. I'm using the student licensed 3DS Max right now, and I've dabbled a tiny tiny bit in Maya. I'm pretty comfortable with modeling in general, and there have been some instances where I seem to be fighting Max more than using it. I've heard people say fantastic things about Modo's Boolean system and how they handle a lot of modeling tricks that require searching for scripts for Max. I have three main questions about it.

1. Is Modo that big of a jump from Max in terms of features and modeling? As in, worth the $10 a month, or $50 a month (if I go with the full version)?

2. I see a lot of professionals using Modo, as in high end, AAA professionals. Are there enough studios out there that are using it that it will benefit me when I'm looking for a job? I know most people just care if you know how to model. But if they didn't have to buy a different software suite, I imagine they'd be happier to have me.

3. Modo Indie seems to have a few restrictions. The most notable that I'm concerned about has to do with the implementation of third party scripts. There are some things in Max that I just simply cannot do without third party scripts. Is Modo the same way? Do I really need those scripts for the $40 a month more? (I also saw that you're limited in polycount on your export, but that's not really a problem, as I can just bring the lower poly model into Max and turbosmooth it there).