Home Career & Education

Motion Capture

Beth
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Beth polycounter lvl 4
Hey, 

I'm currently studying a masters in motion capture & animation in masters. Part of my course, I have a research paper to conduct. I am basing mine on the difference between directing motion capture and theater. I was wondering if I could get the community discussion on this, it would help with my primary & secondary research to get peoples opinion on this topic. I have listed some questions below, if any one could give me their opinion or knowledge on this it would be hugely appreciated. 

A lot of motion capture companies (Mainly focusing Video game companies) request directors who have several years experience with motion capture or theater, obviously the skills are transferable. I am focusing on this more as if the motion capture data would be used for a video game rather then a film. 

1 / What do you think the main differences between directing in motion capture suite and in a theater production are? 
2 / Does directing motion capture require full understanding of the equipment?
3 / Is directing motion capture focused on the performance then the equipment and quality of the mocap data?
4 / From an Actors point of view, would they need to perform differently to on stage then in the motion capture suite? Do they need to understand the way they move physically more then they would on stage? 
5 / Does the director need to work with the data or would that be the techs job? 
6 / Could someone who only directs motion capture easily transfer into theater?