Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First 3d sculpts.

Hey guys,

I have been sculpting a long time, but I am new to digital.  I goofed around once or twice before with zbrush and mudbox, but I'd like to get serious about learning it now.  Here are a couple roughed out heads I did in sculptris recently.  Yes, I took a photo of my screen with my cell phone.  It made sense at the time.Am I right that the next step is retopography?  Going to get zbrush, maya and a new computer soon. Thanks,

Peter

Replies

• Nandx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nandx polycounter lvl 6
    Please take screenshots next time haha. These actually look nice, my first attempts in 3D sculpting were horrible.

For the next step, do you mean retopology? Not really necessary imo. It does help for sculpting, but there's many different workflows you could use to go forward with these, depending on your goals. If you are going to switch to ZBrush, you have tools like Dynamesh, Zremesher etc that helps you keep working on your sculpt while giving you a nice topology (for sculpting) before jumping into maya for cleanup. It depends if your goal is to have a nice sculpt or a production ready real-time model. 
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    On Windows, there's a tool native there called Snipping Tool.

Use that to capture specific portions of your screen.
  • PeterMurphy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message