Home Career & Education

Would relocating to a "hub" really help in the job hunt?

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
NoShape polycounter lvl 4
Hey guys,

I'm a 3D artist and recent graduate looking for work, problem is, there's not much where I currently live. The place I recently interned at couldn't keep me on, so I'm looking to get back into the game. I've been on the hunt for about five months now, I recognize that my portfolio does need some work, but I've been mulling over the idea of moving to where the work is.
 This alone, probably sounds very ill advised, so allow me to quickly preface this by saying it is far from being the only reason why I'm looking for a change of scenery. I'm also constantly improving upon my craft, and working on projects, so I know I'm dedicated enough to obtain the hard skills I need.
 All that said, I figured this would be the place to go and see if anyone has similar experience or insight. Is it worth considering? If so, areas I should check out?

Thanks

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    I wouldn't make a big expense unless I knew for certain that I could output AAA quality art. In other words, if I can send my work to 10 currently employed senior AAA artist, and nine of them say, "yeah, you'd have no problems on our team," then I would feel confident enough to bank some risk on it. If two of them are "meh," I'd wait and keep honing my craft.

Maybe that sounds extreme, but if you take risk with your money, you can easily get into a hole that's hard to get out of. And if you are worried about grocery money, just forget anything else. Life is going to be way harder than it needs to be for an artist to have the focus they need.