Home Adobe Substance

Baking between legs (crotch are)

White_wizard
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
White_wizard polycounter lvl 2
Any tips for baking in between trouser legs? I keep getting these white patches but not sure how to fix it.
a

Replies

• oraeles77
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oraeles77 polycounter lvl 4
    looks like its detecting the normals of the opposing trouser leg.

im not an expert on organic stuff like this, but when I bake tight little areas like that I will distance everything out (I call it exploding the mesh, no idea if that makes sense) so I would move one of the trouser legs elsewhere (with its lowpoly as well)  just for baking etc.
  • White_wizard
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    White_wizard polycounter lvl 2
    Ahh i see, thanks for your response since its a small patch i decided to use the clone tool over it.
  • poopipe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter
    This is why cage baking was invented.  Use a cage
  • SPYFF
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SPYFF polycounter lvl 10
    two old technique:
    1) explode the mesh as mentioned before: separate the lowpoly mesh into two different leg, splitted where at the UV seam. Also split the highpoly too.
    2) I've seen this in a old tutorial: select the faces near the seam (both low and highpoly) and change the material ID-s. Then at the baking process, select the option which enables the baking on material IDs. That way you can select and separate the problematic areas, you dont even have to modify the default cage (which is really gentle with the normals)
  • apollo580
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    apollo580 polycounter lvl 9