Home Adobe Substance

Substance Baking - Geometry baking onto other geometry

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
adamrice117 polycounter lvl 4
Hey fellow artists, 

This is my first Polycount post, after several months of being a member and looking through the site. I always find helpful information so I'm hoping someone can shed some light onto an issue I'm running into. I have a question regarding normal baking in Substance Painter, which I'm fairly new to using.

I have a desk here which I'm trying to bake three materials at once. The geometry of the desk handles is baking onto the drawers behind them. I have a small idea why, but I thought since I have three separate materials this would not happen. I've tried increasing/decreasing the Max Frontal and Rear Distances. There are three materials, one for the Desk, Handles, and Floor, all on one UV Set in Maya. I exported one mesh as the low poly "desk_low," and one for the high poly, "desk_high." When I bake the mesh maps, these are my parameters:

Here are the UV shells of all parts of the asset, including the floor, desk, and metal handles:

Metal Handles

Floor boards

All wood parts of the desk

Here is a close-up of the baking error, which projects the handles onto the drawers themselves:

Thank you for reading through a taking a look! Your help is much appreciated. This is probably a simpler problem than it seems---

Replies

• Revel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Revel interpolator
    Read into a feature called 'match by name' which only bakes parts with matching _high and _low (providing you already set the name correctly before bring to painter).

You did mentioned about desk_high and desk_low, I'm assuming you name this as the .fbx file? you need to set the name of the mesh itself and change the 'Match' dropdown from 'Always' to 'By Mesh Name'.
  • adamrice117
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hi Revel,

Yes, those are the names for the fbx files.