Home Technical Talk

Unity Engine vs Unreal Engine for Low-Poly Game + Solo Dev??

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Oblivion2500 polycounter lvl 6
I'm a solo dev who likes to work on games during my free time. It's more of a hobby that I hope to start making money on someday. I'm an independent game designer and artist. I have a job that works usual 9 am to 5 pm Monday to Thursday. I like to have Friday and maybe weekend be my game development work. I went to school for Game Art & Design with a BA degree. I specialize in 3D game art using Maya and Blender. I also have used Unreal Engine 4 since it first came out. I have tried Unity before. I have been working with Unreal Engine 4.18 and newer. I'm in the process of making a game which got a low-poly theme with some cool effects that are more modern. I've been using UE4 for a long time and really like it. However, I suck at programming, so I try to use blueprint but even that is so confusing for me. I know that C# is much easier to learn than C++. I have done Java and C++ programming before. I know there's an add-on for Unity that lets you do scripting that converts to C# for you, I don't know what it's called, I forgot. 

However, which game engine should I use for my game? Here are the requirements for my games which is important before deciding on the game engine:
  • The game will be single player and also support local multiplayer (split-screen up to 4 players). NO online or LAN support.
  • Low-Poly Graphics like PS1 or PC games in the late 90s
  • Game engine needs to easily support realistic blood & gore such as decapitation, bleeding, decay, and dynamic body damage based on health. Unfortunately, both game engines don't have built-in gore system like RE Engine for Resident Evil 2 Remake (2019)...
  • I want the game to be available for Windows, Mac, Linux, PS4, Xbox One, and Switch.
Also, I use the following software for my workflow:
  • Maya LT & Blender
  • Adobe Photoshop CC & GIMP
  • xNormal