Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Newbie portfolio review -- critique me, please!

natman
null
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
natman null
Hey there! Hope I'm doing this right/in the correct place -- I'm a current sophomore putting my portfolio together, and I'd love any kind of critique I can get. I want to highlight my 3d work as well as my digital art. I understand that the model of the cat and the mansion aren't up to par, so I'm currently working on improving them as they were done quite some time ago. Any tips would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!

http://nataliemanwaring.portfoliobox.net/

Replies

• Ashervisalis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    I love portfolio reviews!! Here's my critique on it;

I'm honestly not sure what you're going for. You've got animations, character models, environments, an intro montage, and 2D drawings. I feel like if you want to get a job, you're going to need to be more focused, because right now none of them are really up to professional scratch. I feel your strong point is animation, but you still have a bit to go to improve. Your animation clips are also a bit short; I'd like to see something compelling, making me want to keep watching, and with more variety. 

Put all your animation in one video, instead of having a potential employer need to click on random videos to see your stuff. Take out all your 3D environments, as they're not up to snuff. I can't speak for the character modeling, but I can say if you pursue this path, you should get into sculpting, and not modeling the character in Maya. The intro for Blade Runner should be taken out as well. The 2D character drawings are neat, but I don't think these will land you a job. If you pursue 2D character drawing, you should have a career goal in mind, and check out 2D character artist portfolios to compare yours.