Home Career & Education

Architecture/Interior Design online resources/courses for Environment Artist in games?

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
chyslns polycounter lvl 8
I graduated college almost 10 years ago with a Industrial Design degree and I've been working as an Prop/Environment Artist in a couple of game studios for 9 years now. As I progress in my career I'm finding that Architecture and Interior Design play a bigger role with every project I start working on. So, while I'm keeping up doing research and studying on my own (GDC talks, Learned Squared, Amazon books), I feel like all the information I'm getting is all over the place and working with a more structured plan would be a better way for me to handle, retain, and make better use of said information at my job.

I have no problem in continuing to learn the way I've been doing it (I'm all for independent focused learning), but the company I work for has a program in which they partially reimburse the cost of any formal education I take as long as it gives some sort of certificate at the end of it proving I passed the course, and I think this is a good opportunity to get some formal education on topics such as Architecture Design, Interior Design, Plans and Layouts, Structures/Materials. I don't think the engineering side of it is that crucial since I'm working in games and not buildings in the real world, but I could be wrong.

Does anyone here know of good schools, books, courses, etc. for these subjects? Even the free ones work since taking advantage of the reimbursement thing is secondary to me. In the end I'd like to be more "fluent" in these topics so I come up with better founded solutions as an Environment Artist.

Thanks! 

Replies

• Aleyera
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Aleyera polycounter lvl 5
    Interior Designer, Architecture Graduate and Project Manager here! 

Books: 
    - A Visual Dictionary of Architecture by Francis D.K Ching