Home Technical Talk

Ben's Hair-Texture-Generator for Haircards

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
goekbenjamin polycounter lvl 6
:D  What a great threadname to begin with...

I am an aspiring character artist,
and as an character artist we all have to get some hair textures for our characters of course...

Actually to get some good and naturally looking hairstrands you either have to use:
1. Maya + Xgen + Arnold, then correct lighting etc etc, and than bake that on a plane
OR
2. paint yourself some hair

Because it takes so much time i decided to create an hair-texture-generator inside an BROWSER in which you can define:
- Hairwidth
- Strand count
-  density
- color
- weaviness etc etc..

That is my current stage (ignore the wonderful ui here):

That is some textures it generates:

please let me know what you think about it ;)

Replies

• goekbenjamin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    UPDATE: 
    - UI
    - responsive design
    - changed code base for better maintenance (angular)

• Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    Can we have a link so we could try it out?
  • goekbenjamin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    hey Obscura, 
    unfortunately no, because it is still in super-alpha stage and i have no hoster atm.,
    however i will announce it when it is online
  • goekbenjamin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    just another test:

• Mink
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mink polycounter lvl 5
    Could you possibly make it export all the required textures for UE4 hair cards? 
  • Alex_J
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    Great initiative. 

Would love to try it out whenever you feel it's ready. 

One thing I'd love to see is pretty strong clumping parameters. For any character with wet/oily/dirty hair, or basically any animals, having realistic clumping is important. 
  • goekbenjamin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message