Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Crit for Sci Fi environment diorama UE4

CelestialHavoc
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
CelestialHavoc polycounter lvl 3
Hi! I am currently in my second year of university, and was wondering if anyone could give me some critique on our first sci-fi project?

The crate was our main focal point, and we had a set budget for the surrounding environment. The textures were done in Substance Painter, and the renders were taking in UE4, any advice/critique on this piece for me to improve would be very much appreciated! As I'm not entirely sure where else to take it,

Thanks again for your time!

Replies

• Carabiner
    Offline / Send Message
    Carabiner greentooth
    Hey there, were you working from an existing concept? If so, can we see it?

There's some technical things that I would suggest polishing up if you have the energy to do so. For example, broken-looking normals here:

Strange pinching here:

The whole side silhouette feels a bit wobbly and unrefined, which is one reason why I asked if you were working from a concept. 

Consider making a more definitive statement with this silhouette, like one of the ideas I drew at the bottom.

In general, your textures look a little noise and low-res (like the metals on the handle). What resolution are you using, and can we see how you've packed your UVs?
  • Larry
    Offline / Send Message
    Larry interpolator
    One thing i can add is that you have a bit too low poly, especially on that main crate chest, alot of baked details would be nice if they were blocked out instead. It will actually showcase that you can understand where to bake and where not to, maximizing the balance between quality and cost. For such a small diorama scene even about 200.000 tris would be okay in total, considering the quality you get back
  • CelestialHavoc
    Offline / Send Message
    CelestialHavoc polycounter lvl 3
    Thank you for the feedback!