Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Breitling 806 Vintage Watch

node
Offline / Send Message
Budai node
Hey!

I started working on this a few weeks ago, as I thought it would be an interesting project to do in order to get to know a large number of different 3D software. I started learning 3D modelling from scratch in May, so it seemed like a good challenge, and it certainly has been this far, quite the learning curve I have to say.

Software used:
- Illustrator
- Photoshop
- 3DS Max
- Marmoset Toolbag (V-ray for final render)
- Unfold 3D
- Fontlab
- Substance Painter
- Substance Designer
- Lightmap Studio
- Zbrush

A few of my own thoughts:
- The stitches look too flat. Does anyone know how to improve them? Should I do them in Zbrush, or can they look better through substance painter (which I used in this case)

I would love to hear what you think, both good and bad, and anything in between:)

Replies

• Budai
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Budai node
    UPDATE:

Worked on the lighting some more, and changed the dial a bit. I think the image looks a bit sharper and professional now.

With Glass (forgot about it):

Hmm, I see that I am having a bit of an issue with the outer ring from the dial being washed out.. I tried changing the image filter to area in v-ray, and changing the texture in SP, but still doesn't come out right.. Does anyone have an idea about what I might be doing wrong?

• Budai
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Budai node
    Haha, the hands got  all messed up in the terrible typology of the glass, fixed it in this update

• kanga
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage
    Nice stuff!
    The face looks very flat and the stitching (even though you got the relief) looks painted on. For a close up of a product it needs more reallife features because you are presenting a detail shot. Here is a watch I did as an experiment to test out product presentation using zBrush as a modelling tool.