Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] [UE4] Swamp Environment

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
MexInTex polycounter lvl 4
I am working on my Capstone for my last semester in school and am open to all critiques. My greatest inspiration has been Crytek's Hunt: Showdown. Their recreation of the Louisiana Bayou is incredible and this is my first attempt at something similar. My aim was to create an abandoned cabin in the heart of a swamp. I have been using Maya, Zbrush, Substance Suite, Unreal Engine, and Photoshop.

Replies

• Ashervisalis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    I think you need to work on your materials a bit. Did you apply a tiling texture to the trees in engine? It looks like they've got their own separate texture maps.
  • MexInTex
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The trees have an independant texture, I work on them in Substance Painter. Could you elaborate on what you mean?
  • shadacer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    shadacer polycounter lvl 6
    Thanks for posting!
    First thing that sticks out is the lighting, it's very flat and there's no directionality/shadows anywhere. Try a DominantDirectional light to get a start on this.
    I second the notion of the materials, they don't appear to have much response - having a strong light as mentioned above will help with that, but be sure to use real-world reference as well.
    Your bayou cabin's structure is a little odd/flimsy -without a strong wooden framework those planks would fall apart. There needs to be vertical planks at the edges, windows and doorframes to support and border the building.

I'm attaching some reference below on real-world cabins to show you what I mean:
    Image result for bayou cabin
    This has potential, just don't pass up the feedback and keep plugging away. I would also try and find a focal point of the image (say, the cabin), and focus on making that look as good as it can.

• MexInTex