Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Advice appreciated] Graduate Environment Art portfolio feedback

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
kierangoodson polycounter lvl 5
Hello Polycount,

I'm a graduate environment artist looking to produce realistic environments and 3D assets within the games industry. I've been applying for positions since I graduated with First Class Honours 3 months ago.

I'd appreciate any feedback or advice regarding my portfolio or the process of getting 'a foot in the door' so I can become a stronger candidate for future opportunities. I've also left my LinkedIn below to hopefully connect with more of you on the platform. 

Many thanks,

Kieran Goodson
www.linkedin.com/in/kierangoodson
www.kierangoodson.com

Replies

• JordanN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    The two biggest things hurting your portfolio are the Cooper and the Padoga. 

I like that you animated your Car, but animation isn't the focus of Enivornment Art. The presentation is extremely dated, the up close shots aren't helping, I can still see visible geometry. 

The Padoga has ok modeling but texturing is non-existent. You mention you do plan on adding them in Substance Painter, but if you were applying for 3 months with the unfinished building, that shows huge red flags that you submitted something that is incomplete. 

You also need to decide right now if your art is actually meant for Games or for other stuff like Movies/Archviz. 

The Savanna is obviously meant to be done in a game engine, but that's only one piece. 

This may sound tough, but I would remove the Cooper and Padoga and start a new with two new pieces, if your goal is games.
    Although I do believe your portfolio shows promise, but the quality bar necessary to get an Art job is incredibly high. 

College/University doesn't quite prepare you for that harsh reality, hence why I'm able to cite these problems in your work so easily.