Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Animation Demoreel critique

triangle
Offline / Send Message
CrisVaquero triangle
Hello! So, I am a recently graduated student and I would like to hear your opinion about my demoreel, what shots would you change/remove etc. Don´t be afraid of be hard, I can take it! Thank you very much for your time!! 

Replies

• tholmes3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    tholmes3d polycounter lvl 11
    There's some cool work in here but overall the presentation feels too fast/chaotic. For example, the womans run cycles cuts to a running plant thing which is only on screen for a second or two. I am just getting to see what the creature is so I can analyze it, and then we cut to another shot. Also, I don't think you need the multiple angles, but if you really want them make sure I have time to see what's going on. Currently it only adds to the confusion.

By switching from character to character between shots you increase the amount of time I need to adjust to each shot. It may not be as exciting but if you group all of the shots of each character together it may read better.
    Another approach would be to include lead-up time before the very short shots and make that lead up time black and white if you didn't work on it. That's a common visual language I've seen on demo reels of it's important to the pacing.
    Anything you can do to help smooth out the flow will let us see your animation better. I don't focus on cinematics much so I'd be interested to hear what other techniques people would use.
  • CrisVaquero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    CrisVaquero triangle
    Thanks for the reply! :blush:

I made the cuts this fast so it wouldn´t bore the spectator, but if it is confusing I must change it! Also, I am a bit confused by your mention about the lead-up time; what do you mean exactly, to leave some frames before the animation starts? 
  • tholmes3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message