Home Technical Talk

[Redshift] Linear 3D gradient ramp

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
BTDarmstad polycounter lvl 6
Hi!

I'm relatively new to Reshift, and I've been searching high and low for an answer to how to make a specific kind of material that literally takes less than 2 minutes to set up in Cinema 4D's material editor:

A linear 3D gradient ramp set in world space. Here's an example:

That's all there is to it, along with some reflection. I'm going to use this for a 3D animation of a logo that has a gradient color, so it's important that I get to control where in world space this gradient starts and ends in the relevant axis. The reason I'm trying to set this up in Redshift is because Cinema 4D's physical renderer is unbelievably slow when it comes to rendering DOF and motion blur, and DOF map After Effects just doesn't cut it (it just creates sharp edges and halos when cranking up the blur radius).

Any suggestions?

Replies

• RN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    RN sublime tool
    Hi. Try using the Triplanar Shader in Redshift and set the projection mode to World-Space.
    You can usually find that in other renderers too.

They specifically mention the result has the colors "swimming" over the object surface: https://docs.redshift3d.com/display/RSDOCS/Tri+Planar?product=cinema4d
  • BTDarmstad
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BTDarmstad polycounter lvl 6
    RN said:
    Hi. Try using the Triplanar Shader in Redshift and set the projection mode to World-Space.
    You can usually find that in other renderers too.

They specifically mention the result has the colors "swimming" over the object surface: https://docs.redshift3d.com/display/RSDOCS/Tri+Planar?product=cinema4d