Home Career & Education

Need advice on education

dizzi
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
dizzi polycounter lvl 6
Hello,
I am sorry to bother everyone with more student angst. But i need some advice on a pretty big decision in my life. i'm currently a freshman doing a bachelor of arts degree in drawing and painting at some local college and i was planning to apply to a bfa degree at a more well known art college. Last year i was enrolled for computer science but i did not like it and i decided to spend the rest of the year learning 3d modeling at home. Due to family pressure on getting a college degree i enrolled for something that seemed relevant for what i want to do as a career, which is to be a 3d modeler. But now im starting to realize that college probably isn't for me, i feel like im wasting time with gen ed classes, i can't choose my own projects like i used to and most of all.. i'm not able to dedicate enough time to 3d modeling, and if i do my grades will drop which is already happening... i was supposed to do homework but i started sculpting in zbrush and got distracted, i can't find motivation to go through with these assignments too, i know drawing and painting is important to learn but i just enjoy modeling so much more. I really want to go back to self teaching and online classes for another year and then apply for gnomon 2 year program or any specialized type of school for 3d modeling. 

My question is.. should i just suck it up and continue with the traditional college education or should i go back to learning by myself and hopefully get accepted into gnomon? Also i know gnomon has a 4 year bfa but i don't want to be too much in debt, the 2 year seems more affordable and i feel as i am starting to get pass the beginner stage of modeling.

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter