Home Career & Education

Do Studios hire Freelance 3D artists?

Hey guys, Im new to Polycount and I'm currently thinking of switching careers from a freelance 2D illustrator on tumblr doing private D&D commissions to a 3D Artist doing both High & Low Poly, Stylized PBR & Hand-painted game props such as environment assets (Barrels, Tomes, Chests, Inventory Items etc) and weapons as a starting point. I have a goal of working on such projects from home as a 3D artist. I'm wondering if i can get a reality check from more experienced/seasoned 3D artists on whether my goal is realistic or not?

Thanks in advance! :)

Here are some of my works currently:
model
Some Flora designs for a Personal Project: <a href="https://xliu.artstation.com/projects/Gwr34" title="Link: https://xliu.artstation.com/projects/Gwr34">https://xliu.artstation.com/projects/Gwr34</a>
Some Weapon Concepts for the same Project: https://xliu.artstation.com/projects/gaqdG

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
  • Jonas Ronnegard
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jonas Ronnegard polycount sponsor
    Yes studios hire freelance artists, but usually these threads end up with a big contrast in the responses, some saying it's impossible to live on and some saying it's the best decision they have ever made.

And the contrast itself is quite close to the reality, when bigger studios actually do look for individual freelance artists and take the time to scout them out themselves they all go for the top 1% artists on the skills or name value chart, so you end up with one small group of artists that never have trouble getting work and one big group of artists that have a very different experience.

it really depends on where you live as well, many can earn a good life on indie salaries, usually the problems occur when someone with little experience but require an American salary to get by tries out freelancing.
  • ToffeeApple