Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

What Am I Doing Wrong? Environment Artist Portfolio Critique

node
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Tadpole node
Hey Polycounters! 

So, I graduated a while back.. fresh out of uni I made the mistake of applying all over the place without really any perspective of who/what my competition was. Since then I've come to my senses (thanks to wonderful sites and forums like Polycount and Artstation) and overhauled my portfolio like 2-3 times. As in, replaced everything

Now, I've gotten some contract and freelance work, but I just cant seem to hear back from a full time studio position with the portfolio that I have  :(

So I gotta ask, what am I doing wrong? I'd honestly take any advice, critiques or suggestions on my body of work.. what does/doesnt work, what should I include/cut, what should I improve upon, etc

Portfolio link: https://www.elijahbrose.com/

side note: i'm primarily trying to snag a junior-mid level environment artist position!

Replies

• alexk
    Offline / Send Message
    alexk polycounter lvl 12
    Hey, so I took a quick look at your artstation page. Out of the 3 environments, 2 are cel shaded. Which is fine if you're apply to studios whose style is cel shaded, but I think it's a turn off for most others.

In general, I find your texturing in the 3 environments to be very noisy and seems like you just added grunge overlays then just called it a day.
    For example, the Desert Warehouse, you added rust to the edges of the beams, which is cool, but you just left the rust be applied to all the edges continuously, which makes it look like a brown outline on every beam. Gather and use lots of real life references and really pay attention to the details.

I think you need to push your models further and bring them to life. Compare your jukebox to these ones here, here, here. That's the level you need to be striving for in ALL your models.