Home Career & Education

Can i learn to become Artist on my own as a self taught?

Boklin
null
Offline / Send Message
Boklin null
I am 30, maybe it is way to late for me, but i am really eager to become character modeler/artist. I decide it to change career from software engineering. Writing code is not for me, to much math, to math languages, and it constantly changing. My dream is to work for gaming or VFX company. 

I never drew in my life before. My friend gave me Maya to use, and i am learning how to model atm. 

It is possible for me learn on my own, without school, how to draw? 
Is there some books or online tutorials/courses, to learn how to draw from beginning? As i am learning how to model in Maya, i also want to learn how to draw. My interest are characters and creatures. And i need to know Anatomy as well. Would be good if someone point me out, in right directions. 

I know everything comes to practice, am willing to practice and learn whole day. But i don't know how and where to start. 
Drawing and Anatomy, are both for me enigmas now.I am not sure, what to learn first, how to learn. what to draw....

Should i start directly with Photoshop? to draw in photoshop with tablet? 

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
  • Ashervisalis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    I started self teaching myself 2 years ago at 29, check out my portfolio in my signature. It's definitely doable, but you've gotta cut stuff like social life for a few years.
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    It is possible to self-teach, yes.