Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Next steps to getting an internship/junior role

Hello everyone, I graduated a few months ago from a 3D art college program and of course I'd like to get to a point where I can get a job or internship in the industry. I have a preference for games but I'd be just as happy working in TV - I'm not really in a position to be picky  :)

I know my portfolio is generally not at a level where I can get hired right now. I have continued to model as well as draw since I left school, but I do miss the structure a bit and I'm somewhat lost on how to continue. I don't have many places to ask for feedback or get a fresh eye to look at my work, and I'm having trouble telling what my absolute weakest point is, or generally the first place I should start focusing on bringing my skills up.

My portfolio is at www.jenniferfaircloth.com/portfolio.

Hopefully this didn't get too long. Thank you for reading!

Replies

• Nuclear Angel
    Offline / Send Message
    Nuclear Angel polycounter
    I think it is great that you are reaching out to get a new perspective and get some help, kudos to you for that. Personally id say pick a field and learn that field. So focus on lets say props, make some kickass props and shape your portfolio around that. Or maybe environments and make one really good environment. 

Right now nothing on your portfolio can be seen as production ready, unless it is for mobile. As it is you show with your portfolio that you  know how to texture, model and in general make 3D art. Now you just need to make a more complex either environment or prop to show that you can make it to a professional standard.