Home Technical Talk

Tiling and game performance (please help!)

Hi Polycount :) 
I've been brooding on this for a while, can't find anything helpful on Google and set up my own tests...

Main question: What is heavier performance wise, using multiple tiling textures or tiling planes with a texture atlas?

I will try to explain both methods:
1. For 6 walls (subdivided planes) I use 1 atlas texture
2. For 6 walls (planes) I use 6 tiling textures

To try and find out what method causes better performance in game, I set up a scene in Unity . I noticed insignificant difference with 1 cube, so I tried a larger scale by duplicating it up to 9 cubes.

These were my results (working on a MSI GE62MVR 7RG Apache Pro):

1. Atlas method
Low on SetPass/Draw calls, high on Tris/Verts

2. Tile method
High on SetPass/Draw calls, low on Tris/Verts

So far I was super proud of myself :p But since I'm no technical artist I'm not sure how to read this and what to base my choice of method on. I do not know what is common in environment art. I also wouldn't know where to draw the line with a smaller to larger scale environment...

Could someone shine his/her light on this subject?
Thanks so much in advance!

Replies

• poopipe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter
    This stuff starts to become important when you have a lot of content so it's hard to make a call without knowing how big an environment you're going to make and what's in it

As a rule, individual placeable/reusable assets (eg props/modular pieces) will have a unique map/texture atlas and larger, unique assets (eg a really big wall) will use tileables.   This generally allows you re-use resources where it counts the most. 
  • kio
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kio polycounter lvl 15
    as a general rule of thumb:

drawcalls are expensive
    verts are cheap(er)