Home Career & Education

What speciality I should aim for in the games industry? Also some pipeline questions.

shunen
node
Offline / Send Message
shunen node
Hello everyone!

I'm currently in high school and I'm studying 3D stuff for 1 year or so now. I got into a lot of things (VFX, animation, compositing, motion graphics etc.) before settling down on Blender and ZBrush doing simple props. I've wanted to be a character artist, but I dont want to sculpt something I dont like, so I dont want it as my job. I want to spend my time on 3D packages such as Maya or 3DS Max while I'm working. And the most suitable job for this is seems to be Environment Artist. I know you need to be sculpting, but that seems to be mainly to add details, and you dont make anything from scratch with clay. And that's where the problem begins. I didnt really think about Environment Art, since I thought it was just getting the assets and building the level. Some people say its the opposite. Here's one of my concers, do Environment Artists build the world, or just provide the assets for I dont know, level designers to put it all together? I'm nearly 1 years in to this, and people do amazing stuff after 1 year, but I'm unable to do it. I should have focused on something, so I'm trying to gather up information about the specialities (jobs) in the industry. Any help would be appreciated. I opened the companies' job listings and started to open Environment Art jobs, and it differs a lot from company to company. From Software even lists  "Creating landform models" as a requirement, but no other company points this as a requirement on their job listings.

A bit info about myself: I really enjoy Painter and Designer. I also love modeling, if the thing I'm trying to model is a thing I can do it, of course. 

My pipeline questions are, I'm quite confused about 2 things.