Home Marmoset

Baking maps issue

null
Offline / Send Message
zackii90 null
Dear mates, 

I'm sorry if it's a duplicated topic or wrong setting since I'm quite new to 3d and I can't find out the same problem anywhere.
My workflow is modeling in Blender -> Baking in Toolbag -> Texture in substance painter -> render in Toolbag.
Everything is fine until I have baking issue in Toolbag. 

1. The only output types that works are: png & Jpeg.  Tiff, Psd, Targa will results empty file. Although I can preview them all in Toolbag. I'm trying with all the settings of sample, bits/channel.... but png and jpeg is the only way to go.

2. The normal map result is quite strange. With all the setting of edge padding, smooth cage on/off, soften on/off... It's always as belows. Seems like the UV edge got teared.

But the total baking results great in Toolbag after applying the baked normal map to the low poly mesh.

3. But when it comes to Substance painter, all the UV seams appears clearly

Then I try to bake the normal again in Substance Painter, it gives a smooth results again.

As I know Toolbag use GPU for baking, I'm using msi gtx 1050ti. I'm not sure if it's my card problem or I did setting wrong something.
please help.

Thank you for your time :smiley:

Replies

• EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The pixel padding issue is a known bug with PNG. This should be resolved with the next update.

There was a bug with certain bit-depths and certain file formats as well. For instance, you can pick 16-bit TGA, but the TGA format doesn't support 16-bit images, so this will result in a blank file. This will be fixed in the next update. To use TGA, make sure you're using 8-bit.

As far as PSD exporting goes, there are no known issues with PSD files. PSDs should work with 8/16/32 bit depth. When you say the PSD is blank, what application are you using to view it?