Home Unreal Engine

Lighting Problem: Unknown highlights

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
cbates540 polycounter lvl 8
Hey all, I'm making a recreation of an office space and encountering a problem with lighting on the doors. I don't know how or where I'm getting a highlight and shadows from. The lightmap seems okay, and I've tried my best to block off the directional light except where it's needed. 

I'm still learning how to set up good lighting, so any general advice is also appreciated. I've been studying the "Realistic Rendering" file along with the interior lighting tutorial and they've helped quite a bit!

Replies

• leleuxart
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    leleuxart polycounter lvl 10
    How thick are your walls and do any of them stick outside? Your Lightmap resolution might be too low for the mesh as well, which just exacerbates the problem of light leaking. If your walls are too thin, light can bleed through them, or if your walls go outside above the ceiling, any light on that top part could bleed through the ceiling and into the room.

And just to be sure, you have a Lightmass Importance Volume and Lightmass Portals right?
  • cbates540
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I tried bumping the lightmap resolution up to 128 and no change. My walls are decently thick, so I don't think it's light coming through. I feel my set up is a bit of a hot mess, but the result is actually a big step up from how my interior lighting used to end up. I was having problems with light leaking through where the walls and ceiling come together, so I put everything inside a large bsp with an inner hole in it, and then made a couple slots where the windows are that I wanted the directional light to come in. I also added extra bsps around the crease between the walls/ceiling/floor where the light could get in in an attempt to stop any light leakage there. (See images for what I'm talking about.)